Buttler, Malan return. No place for Root as England announces a strong 16 member squad for the T20I series against India.


England has named a full-strength 16-man squad for the upcoming 5 matches T20I series against the Men in Blue. All the matches will be played in Ahmedabad starting from the 12th of the Match after the conclusion of the ongoing Test series.

Elegant Eoin Morgan will lead the side as there is no place for Test captain Joe Root despite being in tremendous touch at the moment .Apart from the Curran brothers , players like Ben stokes , Jofra Archer and world no.1 T20I batsman Dawid Mallan are included in the 16 member squad . Jos Buttler will return to India for the T20I series after he was sent back due to the team’s rotational policy after the 1st Test which the visitors won comfortably by 227 runs . Jonny Bairstow will also be a part of the team who is being rested for the first two tests . Star Pacers Anderson and Broad are no longer a part of the England white ball team . The pace department will be headed by Archer and will be supported by M.Wood . Apart from these players, A.Rashid and J.Roy are also going to be a part of this team.

It was interesting to see that there was no place for A.Hales to have a comeback to the side especially after coming from a super successful Big Bash League this season where he was the leading run scorer of the tournament. L.Livingstone was called up to the T20I side after an impressive BBL and he’ll be looking to make a mark to cement his place in the side and also impress the IPL franchises with the auction around the corner .

The T20I series will begin on 12th March and the rest of the matches will be played on 14th , 16th , 18th and 20th of March respectively. This will be important series as both the teams will be looking to strengthen their side and find the right balance before the World T20 which will be played later this year in India . After the conclusion of the T20I series , the visitors will play a 3 match ODI series against India in Pune . The squad for the ODI series will be announced shortly .

England’s T20I squad –
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Jofra Archer( Sussex), Adil Rashid ( Yorkshire), Moeen Ali ( Worcestershire ), Jonny Bairstow ( Yorkshire), Sam Billings( Kent), Sam Curran( Surrey), Tom Curran ( Surrey) , Chris Jordan ( Sussex), Livingstone ( Lancashire), Dawid Malan ( Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes( Durham), Reece Topley ( Surrey), Mark Wood (Durham).
Reserves –
Jake Ball ( Nottinghamshire), Matt Parkinson ( Lancashire)
“The author of this article has crafted it for you. Boost his confidence by letting us know your feedback in the comments below!”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Virat Kohli steps down as Indian Captain in Test Cricket

It has been two days only since the Men...

Jude Bellingham: The Marco Rose tuned midfield engine creates history

Borussia Dortmund's midfield wonderkid Jude Bellingham created history on...

Mohamed Salah : The One Season Wonder of Liverpool

Since his transfer to Liverpool FC, Mohamed Salah has...

Indian Captain Virat Kohli to step down from captaincy in T20I

Another quotidian September evening couldn't have been more shocking...