Bengaluru face tough ATK Mohun Bagan challenge in push for top four


Bengaluru FC and ATK Mohun Bagan will face off against each other in Match No. 88 of the Indian Super League (ISL) at the Fatorda Stadium on Tuesday. ATK Mohun Bagan will look for a win to close the gap between them and table-toppers Mumbai City FC. They currently trail the Islanders by three points.

Match 88 of Hero Indian Super League (Hero ISL) 2020-21 will see Bengaluru FC take on ATK Mohun Bagan at the Fatorda Stadium on Tuesday. The Blues were held to a goalless draw by Chennaiyin FC in their last match while ATK Mohun Bagan registered a 4-1 victory over Odisha FC in their previous outing.

Bengaluru have been a shadow of their former selves this season. After three wins and three draws in their first six games, the Blues have won just once in their last 10 matches. Their disappointing run of results can be attributed to inconsistent performances at both ends of the pitch. Their defence has shown signs of improvement in the last two matches with the Blues keeping two consecutive clean sheets against SC East Bengal and Chennaiyin. Goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu was especially good in their last encounter, making six crucial saves.

The winner of the league phase of the tournament will get an opportunity to represent India in the AFC Champions League. The Mariners will be eager to not miss the bus. Bengaluru FC, on the other hand, are in the sixth position on the ISL points table. They have 19 points from 16 matches and are targeting a fourth-place finish to reach the playoffs. The Blues have qualified for the knockout phase of the tournament on each occasion. ATK Mohun Bagan defeated Bengaluru FC 1-0 in the last encounter earlier in the current ISL season. David Williams scored a goal from the edge of the box in the 33rd minute of the game to seal the tie. Considering the form they are in at the moment, the Mariners will aim for a repeat.


ATK Mohun Bagan

Goalkeepers: Arindam Bhattacharja, Avilash Paul, Arsh Shaikh

Defenders: Tiri, Pritam Kotal, Prabir Das, Sandesh Jhingan, Subhasish Bose, Sumit Rathi, Salam Ranjan Singh

Midfielders: Pronay Halder, Javier Hernandez, Edu Garcia, Carl McHugh, Lenny Rodrigues, Jayesh Rane, Regin Michael, Sahil Sheikh, N Engson Singh

Forwards: David Williams, Roy Krishna, Manvir Singh, Md. Fardin Ali Molla, Komal Thatal, Marcelo Pereira

Bengaluru FC

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lalthuammawia Ralte, Lara Sharma, Sharon

Defenders: Juanan, Rahul Bheke, Francisco Gonzalez, Ajith Kumar, Joe Zoherliana, Biswa Darjee, Namgyal Bhutia, Parag Srivas, Pratik Chaudhari, Wungngayam Muirang

Midfielders: Dimas Delgado, Erik Paartalu, Suresh Wangjam, Thoi Singh, Emanuel Lalchhanchhuaha, Amay Morajkar, Harmanjot Khabra, Cleiton Silva, Xisco Hernandez

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Kristian Opseth, Ashique Kuruniyan, Udanta Singh, Edmund Lalrindika, Leon Augustin, Semboi Haokip, Naorem Singh

The author of this article has crafted this for you. Boost his confidence by letting us know your valuable feedback in the comments below!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Virat Kohli steps down as Indian Captain in Test Cricket

It has been two days only since the Men...

Jude Bellingham: The Marco Rose tuned midfield engine creates history

Borussia Dortmund's midfield wonderkid Jude Bellingham created history on...

Mohamed Salah : The One Season Wonder of Liverpool

Since his transfer to Liverpool FC, Mohamed Salah has...

Indian Captain Virat Kohli to step down from captaincy in T20I

Another quotidian September evening couldn't have been more shocking...